A Yankee Moves to Austin, TX – What I’ve Learned so Far

Let’s start with the weather. It’s hot. What you’ve heard is true. Even laying at the pool can become, at times, unbearable. I foresee a summer filled with air conditioning and the pool. Even better, Barton Springs where the water is a refreshing 70 degrees. To some, that may seem way too cold but on a 90+ degree day, it’s the perfect way to cool down.

Wearing my boots with pride!

Austin is like no other city in Texas–or the country for that matter. Between the music, the food and all the different activities going on year-round, it has truly won the right to call itself weird. What other city dedicates a day to celebrate Eeyore’s birthday?

The food is a.m.a.z.i.n.g. From food trucks to hole in the wall BBQ joints, this city has something for every taste. I don’t think I could ever try it all but so far I’ve come to love (and frequent) the following places:

  • Kebabalicious – a food truck near my office. Serves the best falafel and pitas around. Don’t forget the spicy red sauce!
  • Uncle Billy’s Brew and Q – microbrews and bbq, what could be better? Make sure to try the moist brisket.
  • 24 Diner – chicken and waffles. E’nuf said.
  • Trudy’s – mexican martinis and enchiladas. You can’t go wrong with tex-mex in this town and the martini’s are just the thing after a long week at work or a hot day.

The running scene. So many running groups and so many active people–even in the heat. It’s motivated me to start running more and with a group (Gilbert’s Gazelles) in the hopes of improving my speed and strength in time for my next marathon – Rochester, NY in September.

People wear cowboy boots and say y’all and no one stares or laughs. Heck, I’ve even bought myself a pair and started using y’all in conversations.

Altogether, Austin has been like no place I’ve ever lived before. The transition has been an interesting one and I’m finally starting to feel like this is home. Until next time – see y’all later!

Leave a Reply

